Skip to content
China Scholarships Index

Unofficial index. Applications are made only through the official channels linked on each page.

MOFCOM Scholarship for Ugandan applicants: the Ministry of Education and Sports call for 2026/2027

Sources checked · Unofficial summary

Ugandan candidates applied for the 2026/2027 China MOFCOM Scholarship through Uganda's Ministry of Education and Sports. The Ministry's advert asked applicants to make an online application and then send a printed copy of it, together with an application letter and supporting documents, to the Department of Admissions, Scholarships and Student Affairs at Legacy Towers in Kampala, or by email to scholarships@education.go.ug. Everything had to reach the Ministry by Monday 27 April 2026.

That advert covers a single intake, for study at postgraduate level in Chinese universities. Its dates have passed. This page reports only what the advert says, and marks where it is silent rather than filling those gaps with rules from another programme.

Who the call was for and where applications went

The advert invited applications from suitably qualified Ugandan scholars to pursue studies at postgraduate level in Chinese universities under the MOFCOM programme for the 2026/2027 academic year.

The printed application was addressed to the Secretary, Central Scholarships Committee, Ministry of Education and Sports. It was delivered to the Department of Admissions, Scholarships and Student Affairs, Legacy Towers, Kyadondo Road Plot 5, Kampala, 2nd Floor, Wing B, or sent by email to scholarships@education.go.ug.

How the application was submitted

The advert set out an online step and a paper step.

All applicants were required to make an online application on receipt of the advert, following the guidelines provided on the Ministry of Education and Sports website, www.education.go.ug. The advert does not name the online portal and does not give an agency number; for the online step it refers applicants to those published guidelines rather than setting the details out itself.

All applicants were then required to submit a printed copy of the online application, together with an application letter carrying a recent passport photograph and the documents listed below.

Who was eligible

The advert listed these conditions:

  • PhD applicants had to hold a master's degree in the relevant field.
  • Master's applicants had to hold a first degree in the relevant field.
  • Applicants with foreign qualifications had to have their academic documents equated by the National Council for Higher Education.
  • Master's applicants had to have at least three years of work experience in the relevant field.
  • Applicants had to be below 45 years of age at the time of application.
  • Applicants had to be physically and mentally fit to study overseas.
  • Applicants already studying in China, or already on any scholarship programme, need not apply.

The advert states no language requirement, and it does not describe how eligible applicants were assessed against one another.

Fields and number of places

At PhD level, one field was listed: National Development Studies, with 2 slots.

At master's level, nine fields were listed:

Field Slots
Environmental Engineering 1
Electrical Engineering 1
Public Health 2
Industrial and Engineering Management 2
International and Executive Business Administration 1
Traffic and Transportation Engineering 2
Artificial Intelligence 2
Tourism and Hotel Management 1
Software Engineering 1

The advert did not give a combined total for master's places and did not name the universities attached to each field.

What the scholarship covered

The advert does not say what the scholarship covers. It lists fields, eligibility, documents and dates, but says nothing about tuition, accommodation, a living allowance, medical insurance or travel, and it does not state how long the programmes run.

Documents

The printed application had to be accompanied by an application letter bearing a recent passport photograph. The advert lists what that letter and the submission as a whole had to contain:

  • age, sex, programme of study, home district, telephone contact, email address and work experience, given in the application letter
  • photocopies of academic documents
  • professional certificates
  • the biodata page of the biometric passport

Dates

Applications had to reach the Ministry not later than Monday 27 April 2026.

The shortlist was to be displayed on Wednesday 29 April 2026, on the Ministry of Education and Sports website, www.education.go.ug, and on the notice boards at Embassy House and Legacy Towers.

Both dates belong to the 2026/2027 intake and have passed.

The next call

Any notice for a later intake will come from the Ministry of Education and Sports, the same body that published this one. This page does not predict the dates of such a notice and does not assume that its fields, number of places, eligibility rules or submission arrangements will repeat. The advert directed applicants to www.education.go.ug for guidelines and for the shortlist, so that is where the Ministry puts this material.

For a general description of the MOFCOM programme outside this Ugandan call, see the site's page on the MOFCOM scholarship. It is not a substitute for the Ministry's advert, which is the only authority for the 2026/2027 intake described here.

Questions people ask

Who received the applications in Uganda?

Applications were addressed to the Secretary, Central Scholarships Committee, Ministry of Education and Sports, and were delivered to the Department of Admissions, Scholarships and Student Affairs at Legacy Towers, Kyadondo Road Plot 5, Kampala, or emailed to scholarships@education.go.ug.

Was there an age limit?

Yes. Applicants had to be below 45 years of age at the time of application.

Did master's applicants need work experience?

Yes. The advert required at least three years of work experience in the relevant field for master's programmes. It states no work experience requirement for PhD applicants.

How many places were offered?

The advert listed one PhD field with 2 slots and nine master's fields with one or two slots each. It did not state a single combined total.

Did the advert say what the scholarship covered?

No. It did not list tuition, accommodation, a living allowance, insurance, travel or any other benefit.

Did the advert name the online portal or an agency number?

No. It required an online application and referred applicants to the guidelines on the Ministry website, but it did not name a portal and did not give an agency number.

When was the deadline?

Applications had to reach the Ministry not later than Monday 27 April 2026, and the shortlist was to be displayed on Wednesday 29 April 2026.

Sources

Checked 10 October 2026

This page is an unofficial summary and is not published by the bodies named; if it differs from the official notice, the official notice prevails.

Scholarship Desk