Skip to content
China Scholarships Index

Unofficial index. Applications are made only through the official channels linked on each page.

MOFCOM Scholarship for Rwandan public servants: the Higher Education Council announcement for 2026-2027

Sources checked · Unofficial summary

Rwanda's Higher Education Council (HEC) announced that the Chinese Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM) had offered fully funded Master's and PhD scholarships to the Government of Rwanda for the 2026–2027 academic year, and said the places were open specifically to public servants. HEC handled the applications itself through its own online portal and set a deadline of 28 April 2026. Everything below comes from that one announcement, and the intake it described has since closed.

This site also carries a separate page on the MOFCOM scholarship, at MOFCOM scholarship. The terms described there belong to that page; the terms below belong only to the Rwandan notice summarised here.

Who received the applications

The notice came from HEC, dated in Kigali on 16 April 2026 and signed digitally for HEC. Candidates sent nothing to China at this stage. The application letter had to be addressed to the Director General of HEC, and everything else went to HEC as well. No part of the announcement described applicants contacting a Chinese university, an embassy, or an agent.

How applications were submitted

Applications had to be submitted online, through the HEC Management Information System (MIS) at https://hecmis.hec.gov.rw/. The notice said all applications had to be submitted that way, and that only complete applications would be considered.

The announcement gave no agency number and asked for no paper copies. Both are absent from the text, so applicants following this notice would have had nothing to post and no code to quote. Alongside the submission route, notice set one substantive choice rule: applicants had to apply for programmes related to their previous academic qualifications, and had to select one programme from the list of forty eligible universities attached to the announcement.

Who could apply

The scholarships were offered under cooperation between the Government of Rwanda and the People's Republic of China. The announcement said they were specifically open to public servants, and repeated the requirement that applicants choose a programme related to their earlier qualifications.

Beyond those two conditions, the notice set out no others. It stated no age limit, no minimum degree classification, and no language test requirement, and it said nothing about years of service. Those gaps are gaps in this document; they are not permissions.

Levels and places

The scholarships covered Master's and PhD programmes starting in the 2026–2027 academic year. The announcement did not state how many places were available, and did not say how they were distributed between the two levels.

The programme list

Annex I to the notice was titled "2026 List of MOFCOM Degree Education Programs" and listed 40 programmes. Every entry carried the prefix "2026"; that prefix is omitted below. The order is the order printed in the annex and is not a ranking, and the table reproduces the programme titles as printed, including their own wording.

No. Programme University Length (years) Start End
1 Master Program in Public Policy Peking University 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
2 Master Program in Public Administration (National Development) Peking University 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
3 Doctoral Program in Studies of National Development Peking University 3 01/09/2026 31/08/2029
4 Master Program of Urban and Rural Planing Beijing Jiaotong University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
5 Master Program on Traffic and Transportation Engineering Beijing Jiaotong University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
6 Master Program of Forest Economics and Policy Beijing Forestry University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
7 Master Program of Business Administration Beijing Normal University 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
8 Master Program of Educational Management and Policies Northeast Normal University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
9 International Executive Master of Business Administration (IEMBA) University of International Business and Economics 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
10 Master Program in Tourism and Hotel Management Harbin University of Commerce 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
11 Master of Industrial Engineering and Management Hunan University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
12 Master of Education in Educational Leadership and Policy Program East China Normal University 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
13 Master Program in Information and Communication Engineering Huazhong University of Science and Technology 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
14 Master Program in Public Diplomacy Jilin University 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
15 Master Program in International Business Jiangxi University of Finance and Economics 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
16 Master Program of Public Health Southern Medical University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
17 Master Degree Program of Fishery Nanjing Agricultural University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
18 Master of Audit Program Nanjing Audit University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
19 Master Program of Artificial Intelligence Nanjing University of Information Science and Technology 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
20 Master Program of Meteorology Nanjing University of Information Science and Technology 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
21 Master Program in Software Engineering Nankai University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
22 International Master of Public Administration Tsinghua University 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
23 Master of Public Administration in International Development and Governance Program Tsinghua University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
24 Master Program of Professional Accounting Program Shanghai National Accounting Institute 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
25 Master Program in Environmental Engineering Suzhou University of Science and Technology 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
26 International Master's Degree Program in Environmental Management and Sustainable Development Tongji University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
27 Master Program in International Relations China Foreign Affairs University 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
28 Master Program of International Law and Chinese Law Wuhan University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
29 Master Program of Electrical Engineering Xi'an Jiaotong University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
30 Master Program in Rail Transit Electrification and Information Technology Southwest Jiaotong University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
31 Master Program in Project Management Yunnan University of Finance and Economics 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
32 Master Program of Comparative Education Zhejiang Normal University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
33 Master Program in Journalism, Media and Communication (Digital Communication) Communication University of China 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
34 Master Program in Journalism, Media and Communication (International Communication) Communication University of China 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027
35 Master Program of Rural Development and Management Studies China Agricultural University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
36 Master Program of Development and Governance Renmin University of China 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
37 Master Program of Social Work (Women's Leadership and Social Development) China Women's University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
38 Master of Advanced Nursing Practice and Medical Technology Program Central South University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
39 Master's Degree Program in Transportation Engineering Central South University 2 01/09/2026 31/08/2028
40 Master Program of Public Administration in Chinese Governance Sun Yat-sen University 1 01/09/2026 31/08/2027

Dates in the annex are printed in day-month-year order and are reproduced unchanged. The list is dominated by one- and two-year master's programmes; one three-year doctoral programme appears, at Peking University.

What the scholarship covered

The notice said the scholarship covered tuition fees, accommodation, living allowance, international travel, local transport within China, and medical insurance. It attached no amounts to any of these items and no monthly or annual figures anywhere in the text.

Documents HEC asked for

The announcement invited interested candidates to submit nine things:

  • An application letter addressed to the Director General of HEC.
  • A copy of a National ID or a valid passport.
  • A detailed curriculum vitae.
  • One passport-size photograph.
  • Notarized copies of academic certificates and transcripts.
  • A personal statement in English, of up to 1,000 words, covering academic background, work experience, achievements and career plans.
  • A recommendation letter from a current or former academic staff member.
  • A recommendation letter from the applicant's employer.
  • A study plan or research proposal of at least 500 words.

The reference letters carry no word limit in the notice, and no template or form number is given for any item.

Dates, and where the next notice would come from

HEC published the announcement on 16 April 2026 and set its application deadline at 28 April 2026. Twelve days was the whole window. With the programmes in the annex scheduled to begin on 01/09/2026, that intake has passed.

The notice said nothing about a later round, and no deadline in it applies beyond this cycle. The body that issued this announcement was HEC, so a further one would come from HEC as well — but its dates, its programme list and its requirements are not stated here and should be read from that notice itself rather than assumed from this one.

Questions people ask

Who could apply for these scholarships?

The announcement said the scholarships were specifically open to public servants, offered under cooperation between the Government of Rwanda and the People's Republic of China. Applicants also had to apply for a programme related to their previous academic qualifications.

Could applicants apply for more than one programme?

No. The notice said applicants were required to select one programme from the list of forty eligible universities attached to the announcement.

Were paper applications accepted?

The notice described only one route: all applications had to be submitted online through the HEC Management Information System (MIS). It did not provide for posted or hand-delivered copies.

Did the announcement say how many scholarships were on offer?

No. The notice named the levels — Master's and PhD — and said nothing about the number of places at either level.

Did the notice give any amounts in money?

No. It listed what the scholarship covered — tuition, accommodation, living allowance, international travel, local transport within China and medical insurance — but attached no figures to any of them.

Sources

Checked 10 October 2026

This page is an unofficial summary, not published by the Higher Education Council or by any other body named above; where it and the official notice differ, the official notice prevails.

Scholarship Desk