Chinese Government Scholarships for Ugandan students: the Ministry of Education and Sports advert for 2026/2027
Sources checked · Unofficial summary
Uganda's Ministry of Education and Sports advertised Chinese Government Scholarships for the 2026/2027 academic year, listing five fields in total — one at PhD Level, two at Undergraduate Level and two at Masters Level — each with 02 slots. The advert's heading invited applications for study at Masters and Undergraduate levels, while the fields table also listed a PhD Level place; the notice did not reconcile the two. Applicants had to send a downloaded or handwritten application form, with supporting documents, to the Ministry's Department of Admissions, Scholarship and Students Affairs in Kampala or by email, and it had to arrive by Monday 5 January 2026.
Who received the applications
The advert asked applicants to address the application to The Secretary, Central Scholarships Committee, Department of Admissions, Scholarship and Students Affairs, Ministry of Education and Sports. It gave a delivery address at the Department of Admissions, Scholarship and Students Affairs, 3rd Floor, Wing A, room 9 or 15 Legacy Towers, Kyadondo Road – KAMPALA, and an email address, scholarships@education.go.ug.
How applications were submitted
The notice said the application form could be downloaded from the Ministry of Education and Sports website, www.education.go.ug, or handwritten with a recent passport photo attached. The advert did not name an online application portal or an agency number; submission was by delivering paper copies to the Kampala office or by emailing them to scholarships@education.go.ug.
Who was eligible
The advert invited applications from suitably qualified Ugandan Scholars. It set out these conditions:
- Applicants for the Undergraduate programmes must have scored a minimum of ‘C’ in Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics, and must have completed ‘A’ Level in 2023 or 2024.
- Applicants for the Masters Degree should hold at least a minimum CGPA of 3.60 in the relevant field.
- Applicants for the Masters Degree must have at least two years or more working experience in the relevant field.
- Applicants must not be more than 25 years of age for Undergraduate and not more than 35 years of age for Masters, and not more than 40 years at the time of application.
- Applicants must have a valid biometric Passport.
- Those admitted on Government Scholarships / Sponsorship should not apply.
The notice did not state which level the 40-year age limit applied to, and it did not set out separate qualification or experience requirements for the PhD Level field listed in the fields table.
Levels and number of places
The fields table listed the following:
| Level | Field | Slots |
|---|---|---|
| PhD Level | PhD in Bio-Chemical Engineering | 02 |
| Undergraduate Level | BSc. Civil Engineering | 02 |
| Undergraduate Level | BSc Water Engineering | 02 |
| Masters Level | MSc. Statistics | 02 |
| Masters Level | MSc Pharmacology | 02 |
The heading described the study levels as Masters and Undergraduate, while the table listed PhD, Undergraduate and Masters; the notice did not reconcile the difference. The notice did not state a total number of places, but each of the five listed fields carried 02 slots.
What the scholarship covered
The 2026/2027 advert did not say what the scholarship covered. It did not list tuition, accommodation, a living allowance, medical insurance or any other benefit, and this page does not add coverage rules from the general Chinese Government Scholarship guide or any other programme.
Documents required
The notice said the application should indicate age, sex, course, home district, telephone contact and an email address. It required photocopies of academic certificates and transcripts, and a recent passport photo attached if the form was handwritten. A valid biometric passport was also required under the eligibility conditions. The notice did not list any further documents, such as a study plan or reference letters.
Dates for the 2026/2027 intake
The deadline for applications to reach the Ministry was Monday 5 January 2026. The shortlist was to be displayed on the Ministry of Education and Sports website, www.education.go.ug, and on notice boards at Legacy Towers on Friday 9 January 2026.
Those dates belonged to the 2026/2027 intake and have passed. The notice for the next intake will come from the same body, the Ministry of Education and Sports, but the 2026/2027 advert did not say when it would be published, and its fields, slot numbers and terms should not be assumed to repeat. When the advert was checked, the notice for the next intake had not been published.
Questions people ask
Which fields and how many slots did the advert list?
The fields table listed five fields, each with 02 slots: PhD in Bio-Chemical Engineering at PhD Level; BSc. Civil Engineering and BSc Water Engineering at Undergraduate Level; and MSc. Statistics and MSc Pharmacology at Masters Level. The heading described the levels as Masters and Undergraduate, and the notice did not reconcile that with the PhD Level entry in the table.
How were applications submitted?
The application form could be downloaded from www.education.go.ug or handwritten with a recent passport photo attached. The advert gave no portal or agency number; completed applications were delivered by hand to the Ministry's office at Legacy Towers, Kyadondo Road, Kampala, or emailed to scholarships@education.go.ug.
What were the dates for this intake?
Applications had to reach the Ministry by Monday 5 January 2026, and the shortlist was to be displayed on Friday 9 January 2026. Both dates applied to the 2026/2027 intake and have passed; the next notice will come from the Ministry of Education and Sports, which had not published it when the advert was checked.
Sources
- Ministry of Education and Sports: Chinese Government Scholarships for 2026/2027 Academic Year (advert, PDF) — Ministry of Education and Sports, Republic of Uganda (education.go.ug)
Checked 10 October 2026
This page is an unofficial summary, is not published by the Ministry of Education and Sports or any other body named here, and the official notice prevails if they differ.