Which China scholarships pay airfare and a settlement fee, and which notices do not mention them
Sources checked · Unofficial summary
The short answer
Two of the notices state money for the journey and money on arrival: the MOFCOM Scholarship–CSC Program states a one-off resettlement fee of 3,000 RMB per person and international airfare, and the Guidebook to the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship states a one-time settlement fee of 3,000 RMB per person and international round-trip air fare with RMB ceilings. The Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship states a one-time international round-trip air fare but no settlement fee. The Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship, the China Link Short-term Scientific Exchange Scholarship Program (2026) and the Application Guidelines for International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship 2025 list neither item in their coverage statements.
International airfare, notice by notice
Chinese Government Scholarship
The coverage section of the Chinese Government Scholarship application guide lists four items: tuition fees; free university dormitory or accommodation subsidy; a monthly stipend (2,500 CNY for undergraduates, 3,000 CNY for master's students and general scholars, 3,500 CNY for doctoral students and senior scholars); and comprehensive medical insurance at 800 CNY per person per year, or 400 CNY per person for programmes lasting less than six months. International airfare is not among them, and the guide does not mention a settlement fee either. The page carries no publication date and no academic year.
MOFCOM Scholarship–CSC Program
The enrollment guide states one-time round-trip international airfare for all the students, for the first flight to China after enrollment and for the flight back to the home country upon graduation. On top of that it allows a maximum of "n-1" round-trip international airfares for home visits, one per year, set at the end of an academic year, where "n" is the length of schooling in years fixed when the student was enrolled and is capped at three. The passage states no RMB ceiling for these tickets and does not say who books them or how they are paid for. It does add that the annual review is compulsory, that students who pass it keep the full scholarship for the next year, and that the Ministry of Commerce provides assistance only within the enrolled academic duration: students who postpone graduation will not receive continuing sponsorship. The page gives no academic year and no deadline date; it tells applicants to consult the application receiving authority for each year's deadline.
ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship (ACYLS)
For master's and doctoral degree students, the guidebook states one-time round-trip international air fare for the first visit to China and the return home after graduation, plus one round-trip air fare for a home visit at the end of each academic year, excluding the graduation year. Students buy the tickets themselves, economy class only, and apply for reimbursement from the host university with the original purchase receipt. The ceilings are 3,000 RMB for the first-visit ticket and 3,000 RMB for the return ticket upon graduation, and 6,000 RMB for a home-visit round trip; any excess is borne by the student. Reimbursement for the first-visit ticket can be requested after registration, for the return ticket once the student is qualified for graduation, and for home-visit tickets after returning to school from the home visit.
Research scholars are covered separately: one-time international round-trip air fare, economy class only, purchased by the student and reimbursed by the host university against the original receipt, with the ticket not to exceed 6,000 RMB, and reimbursement applied for before completion of study.
The page gives no application deadline date; its focal point list is headed "As of 2026".
Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship (CTUSRS)
This one-year Chinese Language programme for trade union officials from countries along the "Belt and Road" is funded by the All-China Federation of Trade Unions and hosted at Beijing Language and Culture University. Its coverage table, per person per academic year, lists accommodation 8,400 CNY, stipend 36,000 CNY, tuition 25,000 CNY, medical insurance 800 CNY and one-time international round-trip air fare given as "Economy Class Only". The text says the fund is used by the ACFTU to support round-trip air fares in economy class between the home country and the city of the host university, and that return tickets are provided to recipients only upon completion of study. The passage states no RMB ceiling for the ticket and mentions no settlement fee. The page gives no academic year and no deadline date.
China Link Short-term Scientific Exchange Scholarship Program (2026)
The notice states a full scholarship from CSC during the stay in China: tuition waiver, free on-campus accommodation, comprehensive medical insurance and a monthly stipend of 3,000 CNY for general scholars and 3,500 CNY for senior scholars, for a duration of 1 to 12 months with study in China starting no later than 31 August 2027. It mentions no international airfare and no settlement fee. The CSC application portal is described as open to applicants all year round, and host universities must submit nomination lists at least two months before students arrive.
International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship (2025)
The appendix on coverage and standard of the January 2025 edition says the scholarship supports tuition, accommodation, living allowance (excluding four-week study programme students) and comprehensive medical insurance. Airfare and a settlement fee are not among the four items listed in Appendix 1, Coverage and Standard. The edition is written for programmes starting between July 2025 and March 2026, so those dates belong to that cycle.
The one-off settlement or resettlement fee
Only two notices use the word.
| Notice | One-off fee on arrival |
|---|---|
| MOFCOM Scholarship–CSC Program | One-off resettlement fee: 3,000 RMB per person. The passage does not state when or how it is paid. |
| ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship | One-time settlement fee: 3,000 RMB per person, issued in Chinese currency by the host university upon registration, provided to master's students, doctoral students and research scholars. |
| Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship | Not mentioned. |
| Chinese Government Scholarship application guide | Not mentioned. |
| China Link (2026) | Not mentioned. |
| International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship 2025 | Not mentioned. |
The two figures are identical in amount but come from two different programmes with different texts; the ACYLS guidebook adds the registration condition and the currency, and the MOFCOM guide does not.
How to read these lists together
Every figure above belongs to the notice that states it. A ceiling written in the ACYLS guidebook does not apply to the MOFCOM programme, and the "Economy Class Only" entry in the Silk Road table does not set a ceiling for the ACYLS tickets, which state 3,000 RMB and 6,000 RMB. The airfare in the ACYLS guidebook is a reimbursement against an original receipt, while the Silk Road text describes a fund used by the ACFTU, with return tickets provided upon completion of study.
Where a passage is silent, that is all that can be said about it. The Chinese Government Scholarship application guide does not mention airfare, and it does not say whether any individual programme under it adds the item; the same applies to the China Link notice and to the 2025 teachers scholarship guidelines. The MOFCOM enrollment guide does not state how an air ticket is booked.
Questions people ask
Does the Chinese Government Scholarship pay for flights?
The coverage section of the application guide lists tuition, accommodation, a monthly stipend and comprehensive medical insurance. It does not mention international airfare, and it does not mention a settlement fee.
Which notices put a ceiling on the airfare?
The ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship guidebook does: 3,000 RMB for the first-visit ticket, 3,000 RMB for the return ticket upon graduation, 6,000 RMB for a home-visit round trip, and 6,000 RMB for a research scholar's one-time round trip. The MOFCOM enrollment guide and the Silk Road page state airfare without stating an RMB ceiling for the ticket.
Do I buy the ticket myself?
The ACYLS guidebook says students buy economy class tickets themselves, according to the relevant regulations, and apply for reimbursement from the host university with the original purchase receipt. The Silk Road text says the ACFTU fund supports the round-trip fares and that return tickets are provided upon completion of study. The MOFCOM enrollment guide does not say how the ticket is arranged.
Is the settlement fee cash on arrival?
The ACYLS guidebook says the one-time settlement fee of 3,000 RMB per person is received from the host university upon registration and is issued in Chinese currency. It separately notes that host universities may require students to have a RMB bank account in China to receive the stipend. The MOFCOM guide states the amount of the one-off resettlement fee but not the timing or the payment method.
Are these the dates for the next intake?
Not in every case. The teachers scholarship guidelines are dated January 2025 and cover programmes starting between July 2025 and March 2026. The China Link notice describes the 2026 programme with a start date no later than 31 August 2027. The ACYLS focal point list is headed "As of 2026". The MOFCOM and Silk Road pages give no academic year; the MOFCOM page refers applicants to their application receiving authority for the deadline.
Sources
- Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship — China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- MOFCOM SCHOLARSHIP-CSC Program (Enrollment Guide) — China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- Guidebook to the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship — China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship — China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- China Link Short-term Scientific Exchange Scholarship Program (2026) — China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- Application Guidelines for International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship 2025 — Center for Language Education and Cooperation (CLEC, chinese.cn)
Checked 10 October 2026.
This page is an unofficial summary prepared from the notices above; it is not published by the China Scholarship Council, Campus China, the Center for Language Education and Cooperation or any university, and where it differs from an official notice, that notice prevails.