Study plan length for a China scholarship: 200, 500, 800 or 1,000 words by programme
Sources checked · Unofficial summary
The shortest answer is that there is no single word count: the minimum is set by the notice you apply under, and it ranges from 200 words/characters for undergraduates in the Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship to a 3,000-word personal statement in Chinese for doctoral applicants to the International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship. Every notice covered here requires the document in Chinese or English, except the International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship doctoral personal statement, which its 2025 guidelines say must be written in Chinese.
Minimum lengths by notice
| Notice | Applicant type | Minimum length | Language |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship | Undergraduates | No less than 200 words/characters | Chinese or English |
| Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship | Scholars | No less than 500 words/characters | Chinese or English |
| Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship | Postgraduates | No less than 1,000 words/characters | Chinese or English |
| Guidebook to the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship | Non-degree students | Minimum 500 words | Chinese or English |
| Guidebook to the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship | Graduate students | Minimum 800 words | Chinese or English |
| Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship | All applicants | Minimum 500 words | Chinese or English |
| MOFCOM Scholarship-CSC Program (Enrollment Guide) | All applicants | Not stated | Documents in Chinese or English |
| Application Guidelines for the International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship 2025 | Doctoral degree applicants | 3,000-word personal statement | Written in Chinese |
The figures are not interchangeable. The 1,000-word figure comes only from the Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship, and the 800-word figure comes only from the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship guidebook; a graduate applicant to that scholarship is held to 800 words under its own document, not to 1,000. The Silk Road scholarship document states one minimum of 500 words without separating applicant types.
What the notices say about language
Four of the five documents say the study plan or research proposal is written in Chinese or English. The Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship lists it as item 8 of its application documents, written in Chinese or in English. The ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship guidebook and the Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship document use the same wording, and the MOFCOM enrollment guide states that all documents submitted should be in Chinese or English, with a notarized copy required otherwise.
The International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship 2025 guidelines are different: for applicants to the Scholarship for a Doctor's Degree in International Chinese Language Education they require a 3,000-word personal statement written in Chinese, including knowledge of the intended area of study and research proposal. That is the only minimum written in a single language among the documents covered here.
Lengths the notices do not state
The MOFCOM Scholarship-CSC Program enrollment guide requires a study plan or research proposal plus a resume, but it does not give a word count, so no minimum length can be quoted for it.
The International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship 2025 guidelines set a length only for the doctoral personal statement. For master's degree applicants the materials list requires two reference letters from professors or associate professors; it does not state a length for any written statement.
None of the documents states a maximum length. Where a notice is silent, the safe reading is that the notice sets a floor, not a ceiling, and it does not say anything about how a longer document is treated.
What the pages say about dates
The pages differ in how far they are dated, which matters when you read a figure on them.
- The Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship carries no publication date and no academic year on the page.
- The ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship page carries no application deadline date; its focal point list is headed "As of 2026".
- The Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship page gives no academic year and no deadline date.
- The MOFCOM enrollment guide gives no academic year and no deadline and asks applicants to consult the application receiving authority for the deadline of each year.
- The International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship guidelines are dated January 2025 and were written for programmes starting between July 2025 and March 2026. Those dates belong to that cycle and have passed; the figure quoted here is the one that document stated.
Questions people ask
Does the word count mean words or characters?
Only the Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship addresses this, and it writes the requirement as "words/characters" for all three of its figures. The ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship and Silk Road documents say "words" and do not mention characters.
Is there a maximum length?
No. None of the five documents states a maximum for the study plan, research proposal or personal statement.
Can the document be written in a language other than Chinese or English?
The Chinese Government Scholarship guide, the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship guidebook, the Silk Road document and the MOFCOM enrollment guide all name Chinese or English, and the MOFCOM guide adds that anything in another language needs a notarized Chinese or English copy. The International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship 2025 guidelines require the doctoral personal statement in Chinese.
Does the MOFCOM scholarship set a minimum length?
Its enrollment guide requires the document but gives no word count, so no minimum can be quoted from it.
Can I use one programme's word count for another programme?
No. Each figure belongs to the notice that states it, and the notices use different thresholds for different applicant types. Check the notice for the programme you are applying to and use that figure.
Sources
- Application Guide for Chinese Government Scholarship, China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- Guidebook to the ASEAN-China Young Leaders Scholarship, China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- Chinese Trade Unions Silk Road Scholarship, China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- MOFCOM Scholarship-CSC Program (Enrollment Guide), China Scholarship Council (Campus China, campuschina.org)
- Application Guidelines for International Chinese Language Teachers Scholarship 2025, Center for Language Education and Cooperation (CLEC, chinese.cn)
Checked 10 October 2026
This page is an unofficial summary, is not published by the China Scholarship Council, Campus China, the Center for Language Education and Cooperation or any university, and the official notice prevails if the two differ.